Please help an absolute newbie decide on first dry herb vape?

Rangestormer

I'm totally new to vaporizing, and want to get away from combustion. I saw the pen vaporizers and got excited because they looked like the thing for me, but my research here showed that they do not really work for dry herbs due to combustion, unreliability, etc.

I am a light user, looking to use it once-twice in the evening, mostly alone. Portability is a plus, but since I am going to use it 90% or more of the time at home, quality is most important. So I need something easy to use, clean and maintain that could also work with less herbs, since I am alone and a lightweight. Zero experience with vaporizers and I have to order them online, so no way of testing and deciding on my own.

I do not have a set budget, I just need it to be less expensive than a Volcano, which is my maximum, if need be, but I prefer to save some money on my first purchase.

Is the Volcano still the best? Does the LSV compare if not used with water? I have spent a lot of time reading on vapes in the past days and I am totally frustrated.

Rangestormer,

pakalolo

Toolbag v1.1 (candidate)
Staff member
I'm totally new to vaporizing, and want to get away from combustion. I saw the pen vaporizers and got excited because they looked like the thing for me, but my research here showed that they do not really work for dry herbs due to combustion, unreliability, etc.

I am a light user, looking to use it once-twice in the evening, mostly alone. Portability is a plus, but since I am going to use it 90% or more of the time at home, quality is most important. So I need something easy to use, clean and maintain that could also work with less herbs, since I am alone and a lightweight. Zero experience with vaporizers and I have to order them online, so no way of testing and deciding on my own.