CannaButter

Vitolo

Vaporist
I have been making CannaButter in this exact way for 50+ years.
I do not believe that there is a shortcut, and I do not mix any additive to "boost" THC content.. I personally have tried a few dozen butters made by others in various ways, and did not find the potency to be present. I DO NOT use Soy Lecithin.
I also do not decarboxylate the weed.
It is about to spend 12 hours "decarbing" in hot butter.
Tested against butter made by pros, that decarb 1st... they all have admitted
that my butter is as strong, or stronger.

The only time I decarboxylate is when I am going to use green MJ directly in a recipe...
and then I do it stovetop in a dry frying pan.
photoon2011-05-21at1555.jpg

DSC00435.jpg

I use one pound of UNSALTED Butter.
I use a 3 quart crock Pot

DSC00445.jpg

on the low setting, I pour a quart of water into crock pot and allow it to heat
Once hot, I place the pound of Butter into the crock pot.
When the butter is melted, I add one ounce of completely dried and ground flowers.

Stir and make sure to clean the sides of crock pot with the spoon every hour.
This is done for 8 to 12 hours.
12 hours allows clarification of the butter into what chefs call "Ghee"
Pour through a screen strainer, and leave for 8 hours.

DSC00455.jpg

You will begin to see the Cannabutter separating

Cannabutter is rising to the top, and excess solid matter begins to form below the butter
and part of it starts heading to the vessel's bottom

DSC00456.jpg
DSC00467.jpg
DSC00852.jpg

There will be some plant matter adhering to the plug's bottom.
This is scraped off easily with a knife.

After 8 hours of refrigeration the butter looks like a plug of melted green crayon.
Take a knife and go around the vessel's edge where cannabutter sits, and lift
out the plug.

Summary:
Butter:
unsalted butter.. 4 bars (1 pound... 454 grams)
cook on low in crock pot with a quart of water, and one full ounce of well ground bud.