Using the Deep World of Coffee to Understand Cannabis Extraction

AJS

Calm Consistency
Hello friends!

I would like to start off by saying I am new to the world of coffee, but I've been diving in deep, and it's hard not to see the comparisons to Cannabis.
I would also like to add, I feel somewhat of an imposter making this post, as I feel very unqualified with my limited understanding...but I know the level I'd like us to be at.

While brewing the perfect cup or pulling the perfect shot has started as an art, developments in technology and research have managed to bring it down to almost a near-perfect science, especially espresso.

Technology has allowed us to take control of almost every single aspect of the brew process. Research is what made it all possible and gave us the guidance.

The goal of espresso is to extract as much coffee as possible, using as little water as possible, by using pressure to force hot water through densely packed coffee grounds.
Too much pressure and you can over extract. Too coarse of grounds and the water travels between instead of through, leading to under extraction. And so on.

This is essentially exactly what vaping is, but the medium is cannabis instead of coffee, and the extraction technique is heated air instead of heated water.
Pack too fine and too tight, you'll over extract (char) the top layer. Grind too coarse, and you'll get weak body in your vapor with too much air.

But unfortunately, in our current vaping technology, the comparisons essentially stop there.

We use average temperature regulation, barely any airflow redirection to ensure even extraction, we don't properly prep our bowls outside of just sucking some herb up into the stem, lack of proper measuring, and the list goes on. We are still in a very amature stage of vaping, where we're simply applying hot air to flower and hoping for the best (which is still pretty damn good, and is sufficient for most of us).