Reefer Cupcakes - Please Critique

Nesta

I’ve been making edibles for a few years now but I’m isolated- I don’t have anyone else to bounce ideas off, so I’m always wondering if there’s room for improvement with my technique. Please let me know what you think of my method, negative or positive. It works well but perhaps, with your input, it could be a lot better.

I used to mix raw bud into a batch of brownies or cookies but if I didn’t mix/distribute the herb very well the dose could vary widely. So now I measure an amount of herb, half a teaspoon, for each cookie/cupcake. [I’ve never weighed it, I don’t have a precise scale]. It’s a kind of single, controlled portion.

I start with cookie dough, chocolate chip if I make it from scratch. Chocolate chip or white chocolate macadamia- if I buy the dough. I make sure there’s butter in the batter, and some nuts, usually walnuts or pecans. Years ago I heard that butter is essential to draw out the potency of the pot. Recently I’ve been reading that it’s not just butter, almost any fat will do the trick. But I’m in the habit of using butter. [The other day on FC/Cooking with Cannabis I was reading some praise for coconut oil in this regard].

I use a grinder, but don’t chop it too finely (there are some small chunks in there). Then I measure out half a teaspoon - level if it’s potent, heaping if it’s not- into a small bowl.

I break up the dough into small pieces & press the dough into the reefer. Layering the small pieces into a ball until it’s one and a half to two inches across. This would make a large, unwieldy cookie, so instead I bake it in a cupcake pan at 325 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. Let it cool & eat it. (Or it freezes really well, it keeps for months).