philosophy thread

mlid

hey just thought about making this thread. i love talking about philosophical things and seeing peoples perspective on things. So first do you guys think we have a purpose? or were just here and thats that?

mlid,

bcleez

No purpose other than reproduction. We are here just like the 1 celled organism is here. Evolution. Still evolving.

bcleez,

mlid

yep thats what i think. i don't believe in a greater cause only science. its weird to think that were in the process of natural selection .

mlid,

tdavie

Unconscious Objector
Whoah philosophy. Cool. I got a degree in that 15 years ago.

I know you're talking about something else but I had the time, money and a boss that would let me work whatever hours I wanted as a lab tech (as long as the job got done) so I could get a second degree.

Tom

tdavie,

bcleez

This might sound very cold-hearted but natural selection really isn't happening with homosapiens any more and that is a big problem.

One of our main goals as humans should be space exploration and spreading ourselves throughout the universe. The clock is really ticking on our time on Earth. There are not enough resources for 10 or 20 BILLION people. Estimates are around 10 billion by 2050! Here come the water wars.

bcleez,

indigal

Amongst the corn
Agreed that we wonderfully evolved this consciousness, which allows us to have the empathic abilities & self serving motives to form (mostly) functional societies. I don't believe we have a purpose, other than what we individually & collectively impose. However, that outlook doesn't preclude me from experiencing awe.

One of my feelings is that we are individuals and a society, the only purpose we have is ours and the purpose the collective unconscious gives us. If you grok that sort of stuff..

indigal,

bcleez

Yes our societies are kind of based on how cruel we can be to each other, and our fear of true human nature. So we created these rules to protect us from ourselves.

bcleez,