Looking for a good bong (eventually hooking up to a vaporizer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tdavie

Unconscious Objector
I'd like to buy a bong, but am utterly ignorant of where to start looking/researching). Vaping daily since Dec/09, and am currently vaping/combusting 50/50.

Probably I'd want something as smooth as possible (percolators? diffusion?), and I suspect I'd want to be able to use ice (does it really help to smooth out the hit??).

If I vape, I'd go through ~0.8+ g. Combusting goes upwards of 2 g (on a daily basis).

Usage patterns; constantly on weekday evenings from ~ 6pm till midnite, and on weekends from ~12 pm until 2-3 am.

Prefer to not have to hit the bong more than 2wice in an evening but am okay with that if need be.

Don't know what the price of a good bong would be (I work in a lab, so I imagine the price is frightful if the cost of high quality glassware is transitive), and I've got no idea if it's worth it or am I just chasing some kinda idyllic image? Good glassware is supposed to be better....right?

Top $ is 400 US, and of course preferably less.

thanks for any advice.

Tom

tdavie,
Your concerns about diffusion and percolators are sound.

Be a diffusion snob if you're going for a one and only situation. Inline, stemline, showhead - something besides a normal tube or traditionally diffused tube. It can make the difference between loving your piece and tolerating it.

400 dollars is a tremendous budget. Half of that will get you a fantastic, locally made piece if you shop wisely. I'd also recommend something a with second percolator in the shaft of the bong. This is my personal preference, but I really, really like having the option of having a second level of water filtration built right into the piece.

Don't get taken because this is your first real glass buying experience, beware overpriced stuff in your local headshop.

charliedontsurf,

Nycdeisel