Do strains actually have the flavor that their name suggests?

InspireAndAdmire

Just curious. I'm still fairly new with weed. I notice with the vaporizer, the first 1-4 hits or so you actually can have some flavor to it. But, the only flavor I can point out with vaping is "minty".

The same strain I tried, it smells SUPER fruity/minty. The best smelling strain I've got a whif of. I actually want to keep the bottle I have it hidden in storage as a reminder of HOW GOOD it actually smells.

Does banana kush actually smell/taste like bananas?
Strawberry kush? etc. etc.

InspireAndAdmire,
Reactions: CarolKing

jim-bob

Much like weed, perhaps dog poo has evolved over the years. You probably owe it to yourself to make a more up-to-date comparison. :p

OP - The answer IME is 'definitely maybe'. I've got some 'cherry limeade' that tastes exactly like its name would suggest, but i've also got plenty of fruity-named strains that just taste like, well, weed..

Hashtag46&2

Trichome Technician
If the weed is Organic and soil based the taste will be more intense. Taste depends on lots of factors.
So yes most are named for the taste or and smell. What you buy is not always what the seller says it is. Strains are mixed up sometimes renamed etc.
^^^^^
Exactly...

Organic Soil grown, correctly labeled Strains develop and retain their Terpene profile (Taste) much more efficiently than Hydroponic, Coco, Soil-less applications.

Man... I was kicking myself in the ass (still am) for not getting into exclusive vaporization when I first started growing myself.

To think of all that work I put into my grows to just light them on fire?!?!?
:bang:

I'm soooo grateful to FC!

Taste most certainly matches a majority of the time... There are other factors that dictates the name of Strains however...
Gorilla Glue for example... The Glue relates to the resin...very sticky.

Glass Slipper for example relates to the glassy appearance of the flowers whilst growing.

MinnBobber