NFC Washington State Cannabis News

macbill

Gregarious Misanthrope
Staff member

Relaxed

This Space For Rent
a continuation of FC Thread

COVID-19 delays mandatory pesticide testing for Washington state recreational cannabis

The coronavirus pandemic has scuttled government efforts in Washington state to require pesticide testing for recreational marijuana, dealing a setback to an idea that has been kicked around for several years by local industry officials and regulators.

As a resident, I thought our Rec industry was tested. My stupid.
Many of the growers in WA publish what or if they use pesticides, and there are quite a few that really focus on producing great products without any pesticides. While I would much rather have everything tested, I stick with the growers that are doing it the right way.

yogurtsauce

I bought an oz from Blazed. Previous batches no pesticides. This batch has “possible” mite killer and mite preventative. I can definitely notice a headache.

okanogan farms is solid. So is Quincy green

Gunky

Might be worth seeing if you can become a WA state medical user and then you could grow up to six plants. It's nice to know what is going into your cannabis and feel confident that it is clean and safe. Eventually these commercial growers will get their act together but in the meantime... (shakes head).

acolyte

Yeah, the whole pesticide situation is whack. Finding information on pesticides, which farms use pesticides, etc, is very difficult.

Recently I got burned buying a Canna Organix product. From their website: https://www.cannaorganix.com/about-us
Growing in the heart of the 'Olympic Rain Shadow,' a region on the Olympic Peninsula that receives only 16 inches of rain a year and 250 days of sunshine creates an ideal climate for producing cannabis naturally without the use of chemical pesticides.
(emphasis mine)