Press bags micron sizes and brands

MegaMan2k

Hey i know we have been over this a few times in the DIY Rosin thread but thought it would be easier to navigate the information if there was a stand-alone thread for discussing micron sizes and brands.

I use Rosin Evolution bags, 160 micron for flower for the longest time, however i just pressed alot of herb in 15 micron filters and i really liked the result!
Generally speaking the 90-160 is what ive heard people use for flower, and 15-37 for hash, so this goes abit against what i have learned over the years...

Please share ur experiences with the different bags you have used, which micron sizes do you prefer for which application? And which brands?

more 15 microns ready to go :D

invertedisdead

PHASE3
Manufacturer
I've been pressing flower in hash bags since 2017 when my buddy Psychonaut sent me an article from a team who won the cannabis cup by doing that.

The way I see it, there's more potential contaminants when pressing flower, so the small micron bags make sense to me. And one less item to stock makes it all the easier. I definitely recommend small micron bags.

arb

Semi shaved ape
I've been pressing flower in hash bags since 2017 when my buddy Psychonaut sent me an article from a team who won the cannabis cup by doing that.

The way I see it, there's more potential contaminants when pressing flower, so the small micron bags make sense to me. And one less item to stock makes it all the easier. I definitely recommend small micron bags.
Haven't seen him in seemingly forever now?

shredder

If you pre press pucks it makes a difference. At least pressing horizontal in my press. I generally use 160 micron bags and pre press pucks. I rarely get blow outs anymore. I have tried 25 micron bags for sift hash, but went back to 90's because I did not get any contaminates with the larger pore size, and I felt the yield was better.

BUT, I use a 20 ton press with 3 x 5 plates. That may make a difference, idk.