Minimum Filtration and Maximum Cooling

Archibald

Hey y'all. I've been lurking here for a while now. I'm pretty new to the world vaping, and, while I feel like I've been able to learn a lot about different devices, I still don't know much about glass. I want something that'll give me minimal filtration and maximal cooling when I'm doing dabs out of my Pockety, though I also want it to be good for dry herb, too. I've been using the search function, but it keeps removing terms like "dry," so I figured I'd make a thread. Anyhow, is doing dabs at about 550F through a dry piece even possible without singing the back of your throat? I've been using an orb mini I got off of Vgoodiez, and I feel like I have to add too much water to it to cool properly. Anyhow, whether or not it is possible to do it dry, what's a good piece that'll give me that minimal filtration with maximal cooling? I've been looking at a few pieces from Goo Roo Glass and Texas Hot Glass.

Of course, I want to make sure the place ships in discreet packaging. Anyhow, thanks in advance for any help.

EDIT: I've also seen some stuff about glass beads in pieces. How does that cool versus water? I have a j hook I've used with smaller devices that has some thingamajigs inside of it the vapor runs over, and it does a great job cooling. Is this a similar principle?

Last edited:

howie105

Hello Archibald
I am not a big concentrate fan, but I am a dry small glass user for bud. Currently, I am running a 50 ml two neck round lab flask (1.5” diameter) with various lengths of glass stems (4" to 12") that can be chained together to provide more or less cooling, as needed. Temperature wise, I am temp stepping between 404 f and 419 f with a Phase3 ZX, so I can't say it would work at 550 f for sure. As to putting additional mass into a stem, I have found that once the beads and balls reaches the same temperature as the stem (a few hits) all that is left is the restriction, which was what I was looking for.