Higher Standards Torch

Kins

Hey I'm new to using a torch and this is my first one. When using this one it seems to make the entire room smell like butane. It also seems be like skipping a beat?. What's going on? This isn't normal is it?. Should I RMA? Stop using it?. I don't want to use it if defective.

Kins,
Reactions: arb

Kins

Seriously guys. I had to open up everything to clear the butane smell out of here. Please someone let me know. I don't think I'm gonna use this torch anymore.

Kins,

510MOD

Manufacturer
Perhaps it has a leak at the fill valve. I would do an RMA if you can.

510MOD,

Kins

Perhaps it has a leak at the fill valve. I would do an RMA if you can.

Thanks. Yeah I contacted them already the other day. Hopefully I can get it replaced. Or refunded. After this I really don't want to mess with a torch anymore.

Last edited:
Kins,
Reactions: 510MOD

Ramahs

Fucking Combustion (mostly) Since February 2017
You sure you don't just have it turned up too high?
What happens when You adjust the flame?

Also, what kind of torch is it? Higher Standards puts their logo on a lot of products.

Ramahs,

Kins

You sure you don't just have it turned up too high?
What happens when You adjust the flame?

Also, what kind of torch is it? Higher Standards puts their logo on a lot of products.

It just goes to super high or off. Oh it's a "big blazer"

Kins,

Ramahs

Do you mean "Big Shot" is the model, and the brand is Blazer? Or is it actually labeled "Big Blazer"?

Ramahs,

Ramahs

A few questions to help narrow the focus down:
- Have you tried finding where the smallest point between open and closed valve you can twist the valve knob, and still spark it to get a flame? If so, where is that point? Is it above or below the valve being halfway open?
- Did you burp all the air out of the tank before/during filling it the first time?
- Have you burped the air out of the tank since then?
- What kind of butane are you using?

Last edited:
Ramahs,
Reactions: 510MOD

Kins