Glass use/cleaning/maintenance

Elluzion

Vapeosaurus Rex
Hey FC! I wanted to start a thread to get a few questions answered on using/cleaning/maintaining glass pieces, and hopefully this could help out other people looking for guidance as well. I am a noob to glass and will be receiving my first piece soon and want to make sure I clean/maintain/use it correctly.

1. To fill the piece, do I use distilled water everytime? or is tap/filtered okay too? (i read somewhere that distilled is the best --> why?)

2. To properly fill, do I fill a little above the showerhead or an inch or two?

3. After each use of my piece, do I empty the water out or can I leave it in for a while? how long?

4. To clean, would I use iso 90% + sea salt, pour in and cover the GonG joint, mouth piece, and shake? then empty and clean with water and allow to air dry?

Those are all of the questions I was wondering for now, and hope some pro's can maybe chime in on some of their techniques for use/cleaning, or if you have any other tips you would like to share!! I would appreciate anything:)

Thanks for any help!
:peace: & <3

Tweak

T\/\/34|<
Maybe I can answer a few.

#1 - Tap water can be okay, well depending on where you live, but will leave water stains when it evaporates (minerals in the water). Common Filters (carbon) only remove the large particles, still leaving a lot of minerals. Distilled will be the purest, as it is water that has been vaporized and then re condensed into a clean container.

#2 - Purely preference. If you overfill, the drag will be too much and you may get some splash when you clear the glass. If you put too little, there is just less diffusion/cooling done by the water and little to no drag, so it may effect your pulling technique (how fast you take a drag + temp of vape).

#3 - I try to empty after every sesh or the beginning of a new one, but I use tap water. I wouldn't be as worried if I used distilled water, maybe once a day or as needed for flavor.