Cannabis Education In Medical School

MajorDoobage

Stationary Traveler
Hello FC!

I just finished listening to a lecture on "Substance Abuse" in my pharmacology class. I'm currently a 2nd year med student and a cannabis enthusiast/activist (for personal and medicinal use).

I was really excited to hear about this topic presented in class. I've spent hours and hours researching the pharmacology of cannabinoids. I'm almost done reading The Pot Book, which is authored by several medical doctors and PhDs in various fields of science who all share their expertise on the subject. I thought discussing cannabis in an academic setting would exonerate the plant of its fallacious reputation. Boy was I wrong.

First of all, there were three whole slides devoted to covering cannabis (out of 69). Next, those three slides donned the title "Marijuana," so right off the bat the teacher goes with propaganda terminology.

The content of the slides is even worse. According to the information presented in class, cannabis consumption leads to:
  • lung cancer[/*]
  • apathy[/*]
  • decreased personal hygiene[/*]
  • impaired memory, cognition, and functionality in offspring of cannabis-using mothers[/*]

I can't tell you how disappointed I was! Multiple evidence-based scientific papers have refuted the carcinogenic and teratogenic effects of cannabis. Furthermore, saying that decreased personal hygiene and apathy are signs of cannabis use is unsubstantiated and bad science. I challenge anyone to present scientific evidence showing that prolonged use of cannabis leads to poor hygiene. Maybe some stoners are dirty fucks, but correlating the two is disingenuous. The same goes for apathy. I'm sure some stoners are lazy, and they would have been lazy with or without the drug. Plus I think some people confuse introspection and a deep perception/appreciation of sensory stimuli as apathy.