Newbie Question About Flavor

TheEncore

Thank to all here for your knowledge. I've enjoyed learning here at FC.... so much info here it's mindblowing to a newbie.

I'm new to vaporizers having purchased my first and second vapes (Arizer XQ2 for home and Xmax V3pro for a portable) in the last few months. I've decided that flavor is the most important factor for me, partially because I've always been interested in flavors when it comes to food, beer, cocktails, etc. and partially because I think I'm getting more terps/entourage effect if I'm getting more/better flavor.

My first question is whether there are mouthpieces such as J hooks that narrow more at the lip in order to concentrate the vapor, like a tobacco pipe stem does for smoke? Most people seem to focus on open airflow as a positive to make big hits easier with less draw resistance, but doesn't that mean thinner vapor?

My second question is since I rarely go over 392 degrees and am getting fairly smooth hits from my XQ2 with just the glass whip mouthpiece, is there any reason to even try a water piece? I understand that water is generally thought to reduce flavor, but smaller pieces may not? Should I try just a bubbler or ashcatcher? I do still cough a bit, but it's very minor and some hits produce no coughing at all especially under 8 seconds or so. Zero coughing would be better of course, but not at the expense of flavor.

Last edited:

Shit Snacks

Milaana. Lana. LANA. LANAAAA! (TM2/TP80/BAK/FW9)
Yes, check out the J hook thread in the glass section, there is a wide variety of hooks and many have narrow mouthpieces, the best is a right angle hook, spikes can help cooling too, there are ones with narrow mouthpieces, check Ed's TNT for maybe the best option if not going custom from Oregon glass blower but there's a lot of cheap options to from the Rogue wax works and more...