Tek Closed loop System

irwinmfletcher

Can You Dig It?
I am planning on purchasing a personal small batch closed loop extractor. Been looking at the one ablaze has...a Mini Closed Loop Extractor 45g Capacity Splatter Platter and Sight for $300(HERE). And a 90g one for 500(HERE)...apparently there is a dewaxing column too. I am new to this and am looking for advice so that I can avoid a few newbie mistakes.

matthend

Arent these the ones that have that insanely huge sight glass built in? This seems like an unnecessary potential point of failure to me.

Edit: Also agree 110% with the post above!

herbivore21

I am planning on purchasing a personal small batch closed loop extractor. Been looking at the one ablaze has...a Mini Closed Loop Extractor 45g Capacity Splatter Platter and Sight for $300(HERE). And a 90g one for 500(HERE)...apparently there is a dewaxing column too. I am new to this and am looking for advice so that I can avoid a few newbie mistakes.
Greetings,

These units look good in terms of compatibility with solvents like butane (the buna-n - aka nitrile - gaskets are compatible with butane and propane). However, I should note that I have had delamination of nitrile at atmospheric pressure and room temp due to contact with sticky resin. Always check your gaskets - after every run IMO. Gaskets can of course be changed (they even provide a spare set).

304 stainless is safe with all of the solvents that we use. You should regularly look over the stainless components to ensure that no corrosion or damage takes place over time, but you should not expect problems here unless something unusual has happened.