Are "weed pens" vapes?

Housebroken

I'm new to the vape world -- and loving my Herborizer! I've seen people pull out these "pen" like devices that I think are filled with some kind of oil/liquid. When I mention vaping flower, they look at me as if I'm from another planet. Are these pen things considered "vapes," and what exactly is it they're ingesting?

AJS

Calm Consistency
Hello friend, welcome!
I have an Herborizer as well and absolutely love it.

They are vaping cannabis concentrate. It is technically vaping, as there is no combustion happening. Most of them don't know what vaping flower is though :cool:

It's more commonly THC Distillate. It's essentially everything stripped out of the oil except for THC. They then re-add in terpenes for flavoring, either BDT (Botanical Derived Terpenes, such as Lavender) or CDT - Cannabis Derived Terpenes. CDT more typically preferred.

There are also Rosin carts where instead of distillate, it's Rosin.
As well as all other types of concentrates now adays, but Distillate the most readily available.

It's never as good as a flower experience though imo :brow:

I run into this same situation all the time. I have come to separate them when I talk. Vaping is a cartridge with a liquid of assorted makings. Like AJS said, mostly rosin or distillate and some carrier liquid. That is what the people around here call vaping.

I call what I/we do, Vaporizing. Then, I give a brief, "It's not a liquid cartridge. It's plain, dry herb, being vaporized by heat."

And, it really is surprising how many people have no clue. I thought everyone knew what vaporizing was. If I'm not mistaken, wasn't dry herb vaping around before the carts?

AJS

Calm Consistency
I run into this same situation all the time. I have come to separate them when I talk. Vaping is a cartridge with a liquid of assorted makings. Like AJS said, mostly rosin or distillate and some carrier liquid. That is what the people around here call vaping.