Vaporizing Harmful?

djonkoman

thecragus said:
It depends on the temperature you use for vaporization. The current studies show that if you vaporize below 200C, the effect on your lungs is negligible. This can be further helped by passing the vapor through a vapor bong to cool it before it gets to your lungs/throat. At this temperature, you will only be vaping THC and getting none of the CBN & CNA. These can be extracted by either making "Green Dragon" or increasing the vape temperature over 200C.

As you pass the 200C make, you beginning to get all the bad combustion byproducts including naphthalene, benzine, toluene and carbon monoxide . At around 226C you're getting about 80% of the toxins you'd get if you were smoking. Most herb will combust somewhere around 240C - 244C.

I think you ment benzene? benzine is what I throw in my car :lol:

djonkoman,

weedemon

enthusiast
i'm not an official scientist, but here are my thoughts and feelings on the subject.

we are still inhaling something into our lungs. I see the oils condense and collect on my vapes and glassware.

We are still clearly inhaling a golden sticky "sap" and lining our airways/lungs/circulatory system with this substance. I don't think anyone will deny what i'm saying so far. not sure what the implications are but further study should be followed up on. this oil has antiseptic properties so maybe it could even serve as a good thing. I don't thing we have enough research to conclude this topic.

we are still inhaling hot/dry air. Some vapes are hotter than others at the point of inhalation. I feel these effects on my throat and usually keep a glass of water handy :p I question the effect of this hot dry air on the cilia / flagella (sorry my biology is a lil rusty, we have cilia and bacteria have flagella? anyways it's not super important...) that line our airways. again not enough research for an answer.

these are 2 things that come to mind regarding the safety of vaporization.