The Mushroom Thread

Radwin Bodnic

Hi everyone !

I'm new to FC and I appreciate this place a lot. I have been lurking a lot these pasts months prior creating an account and I definitely feel being a part of this community.
Reading across a few different threads I have found that a lot of people here are mushrooms enthusiasts. Being myself a mycophile, and I dare to say a mushroom connoisseur, I would be really pleased if we can share about it on this thread.

🍄 Welcome to the mushroom thread 🍄

The fungus kingdom is quite luxuriant, so let's center a bit our exchanges.

What I'd love to see in this thread

• Gourmet mushrooms talks, recipes
  • Pictures in situ, pictures of pickings
  • Rare and uncommon mushrooms pictures
  • Medicinal mushrooms talks and uses
  • Talks about biotope and biological interactions
I am OK with posts about magic mushrooms but please do not let them overwhelm this thread. (Magic mushrooms can be overwhelming.)

Even though it belongs to the fungi kingdom, please do not post about mold on your flowers.
Please do not post about growing auxiliary mushrooms, it might exist a more suited thread on FC.

About pictures

Please only post your very own pictures.
Mushrooms spots are, by definition, secret spots. Therefore it is recommended to remove the EXIF data from your pictures.

Please put the names of the mushrooms you share here. Vernacular/local name is ok but standard/Latin name is better since we're an international community.
Hunting season and pasts weeks weather prior picking can be good informations to add to your pictures.

You can post pictures of mushrooms you don't know if you want the help of the community to identify them.
For an easy identification, do not cut the root of the mushroom : we need to see the full stem, root, hat (top and under), ring if there's one. A longitudinal cut can be helpful. Biotope and season are important informations for a better identification.

Disclaimer

Mushroom hunting can be hazardous.​