The Mighty+ CU cleaning methods and alcohols

Falafel

I am a total beginner.
So, the manual (and many others) suggests cleaning the CU with isopropyl alcohol by soaking it for no more than 30mins.

So my questions are :
  1. Why specifically Isopropyl and is it OK (safe) if I use Ethanol instead of Isopropyl alcohol ?
  2. What exactly happens if I soak the CU for more than 30 mins in Isopropyl or Ethanol ?
  3. Ethanol is safer and cheaper than Isopropyl so why just not use Ethanol ?

So I read in the manual that the CU in fact the whole mighty is made from PEEK plastic, tried searching for what happens if it's soaked in Isopropyl or Ethanol for 30mins or more couldn't find anything that is from a reliable or trusted source, the only thing that I found was not related to PEEK but to plastic in general and it's that Alcohol could cause material deformation cracks or discoloration.

My whole point of these question is knowing which materials are safe to use and which are not because like everyone I'm trying not to get poisoned, So I soaked my CU in Ethanol for about 3 hours it looks totally fine (by the look) should I use it or just get a new CU ?

Siebter

Less soul, more mind
The 30 minute recommendation might refer to the o rings on the cooling unit. Or that more than 30 minutes won't change the result much anyway.

Isopropyl alcohol is very efficient and evaporates quickly, it's also safe when you rinse thoroughly. I don't think ethanol is much different from that and if your cooling unit looks fine, it should be fine.

ChooChooCharlie

Do not worry about using ethanol instead of isopropyl

S&B advised using ethanol in manuals until a year or so ago
Not sure why they changed to recommending isopropyl -- perhaps iso is more common in the States, or because iso evaporates quicker? Anyway, you can use either one

Do not worry that you soaked the PEEK CU for three hours