MFLB Mission Control -- lithium ion for your launch box

frieburd

Accessory Maker
Greetings fc members and lurkers.

This is my first post here, so an intro is in order. I'm a software developer by trade, having spent the last 25 or so years at various companies in the SF Bay Area. Prior to that I was a US Navy submariner with extensive training in computers and communications electronics. As a programmer, many of my projects were pretty "close to the metal", and I've had lots of fun helping the EE's with their bugs at times and messing with logic analyzers, but I've never actually done real EE type work (i.e. hardware design). It's something that's been lurking within me for quite some time now...

I've recently relocated to the northern Sierras and have lots of spare time. This is always where trouble starts :-) Me and my mflb became very close. Like just about anything you spend lots of time with, you begin to notice flaws. Basically, I had too many batteries and was not much into their juggling act.

So now I'd like to share with you my creation. I've been using an early prototype for a couple months. It seems to work well and I feel that there are probably others out there that would find it useful. It's formal name is "MFLB Mission Control", but I'll just use mc (or mflbmc) from here on. Here's the lowdown:

- 2 18650 cells (Samsung 25R, user replacable/upgradable)

- cnc routed maple and acrylic enclosure

- custom pcb including usb charging (1000mA) and full battery protection features

- 5 led battery level indication

- runtime equivalent to roughly 6-7 glyph NiMH batteries

I've just put 10 units up on ebay, search for it by name. 30-day money back, 90-day defect warranty. I welcome any questions and feedback.

warm regards, frieburd

picture:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4HYNWi5SMuJQjQ3UVVnR0s0dTA

Last edited: