Kindness to stray(?) dogs; anyone else take them in? Random dogness.

tdavie

Unconscious Objector
As a very short disclaimer; I'm not an expert in handling dogs....I'm an idiot who seems to take chances with animals but hasn't suffered so far (see the short addendum about the pig).

I've always been a sucker for feeding animals, from the zoo to animals I found in Yellowstone Park to animals I found in state parks all over the midwest-farwest US. Was driving through a Grizzly Park, and there was this old bear that didn't look well at all (getting picked on by the others, looked too skinny, etc), so we threw him a watermelon and a bunch of hamburger from the cooler. Stupid as hell, but he seemed to like it.

I've taken in a Rottweiler (had a collar on), a Yorkie, some Greyhound/Sheltie cross, countless cats. I've checked dog tatoos, etc.

Also thinking of getting an other dog. My current dogs are small (41 and 17 lbs), both female, both spayed. I've bought a new house with a backyard 42x114 ft. Will be living about a 10 minute drive from work and am willing to drive home at lunch to stay with the dogs for a 1//2 hour or so. Won't be moving until June 25.

Any ideas for a 20 lb or less dog. Feisty and preferably capable of hiking in rough terrain. Woud prefer boundless energy ( see I am an idiot :)). I've got a Cairn Terrier, so maybe a Jack Russel? Terrier owners out there?

thanks

doggedly yours (haha)

Tom

[Dammit, I posted without telling about the pig. I was at work in an animal research unit making experimental diets and had sat down on a large balance to eat a chocolate bar. I heard some noise down one of the 5 adjacent hallways, ignored it (I have no idea how many people work there or who works there....other people who work there the same) and ate my chocolate bar.

In the room walks/saunters a 1200 lb sow and snuffles at me. Did the only thing I could think of which was to surrender my chocolate bar. Also gave up Halls cough candies (wrappers and all).