Genesight

Vicki

Herbal Alchemist
I hope it's accurate. My GP, and so do I, want to know why I am so sensitive to medications. She doesn't know this, of course, but this sensitivity also applies to recreational drugs, i.e.-cannabis, shrooms, etc.

momofthegoons

vapor accessory addict
As long as they don't start making this a mandatory test, I have no problem with it. But it's sort of odd... and I've never heard of it before. I know that genes can have an effect on the likelihood of catching cancer and other diseases. But how it can relate to your meds is beyond me....

Then again, I'm no scientist, lol.

dimildarko

Gene determines just about everything in your body except maybe some of yours thoughts. I could definitely see doctors using genotyping in the future to identify medications that are good for the patient. That is essential what they're doing when they do genetic testing in cancer diagnostics. They're trying to pin point the cancer type so they can give you the correct treatment and medication.

Source: I work in a anatomical pathology lab. My wife does genetic testing as well.

howie105

I hope it's accurate. My GP, and so do I, want to know why I am so sensitive to medications. She doesn't know this, of course, but this sensitivity also applies to recreational drugs, i.e.-cannabis, shrooms, etc.

You don't want to deal with any medical practitioner that won't respect and protect your privacy nor do you want a treatment plan that doesn’t factor in your drug use. Have the talk with your Doc inform them of your usage and if you aren’t happy afterwards change Doctors.

howie105,
Reactions: Eschient

dimildarko

I agree with the above. Even if it's illegal where you are, find a new doctor if they aren't willing to accept your usage. I stopped going to a doctor because she wanted me to get drug tested every few months for my one prescription medication. It was just absurd to me and I have yet to go back.

dimildarko,
Reactions: Eschient

momofthegoons