Fertility and Marijuana

Harorld

I'm sure many of you have read/heard about the concerns regarding the effects of chronic marijuana consumption and its effects on male fertility including production of significantly less seminal fluid, a lower total sperm count and abnormal sperm behavior.

The Center for Male Reproduction states:

"...However, when these substances are discontinued, sperm production should return to normal within three to six months. The problem with substances such as alcohol and marijuana is that no one is certain of the level at which they can be ingested without affecting sperm production. Consequently, the use of these substances should be minimized during the time that a couple is attempting to establish a pregnancy."

Is anyone out there concerned that their long-term marijuana consumption has potentially having permanent negative effects? I've been smoking for about ten years, at least once per day if not a few times per day. I've only been vaping for past two years. In anycase, my wife and I are considering a child in the next couple of years so it's on my mind.

Harorld,

momofthegoons

vapor accessory addict
I am in no way an expert, so this is based on my experience and :2c: Sorry if it is TMI.

My husband and I were both daily consumers when I first started trying to get pregnant. We also drank, often heavily on weekends. I was able to get pregnant every time I tried (which was 3). The first time took a little longer, but I think that was more due to having gone off bc pills after taking them for 8 years. I miscarried my second child, but believe that was due to too much rigorous exercise and fate. I have two healthy children. So, apparently, it didn't have too much of an effect on our ability to procreate.

momofthegoons,

Hippie Dickie

The Herbal Cube
Manufacturer