Cannabis giving me palpitations during the night

GijsX

I am in my early fifties, I've been smoking cannabis for over 30 years, I only smoke pure weed or hash through a water pipe, no tobacco. I smoke sativa / indica hybrids, as mild as I can get. Since I would like to cut down on smoking I am now trying out vaping.

The past few years I have developed a problem that when I consume cannabis I get pretty bad heart palpitations during the night, enough to significantly disrupt my sleep. I am not talking about faster or irregular heart beats (which is what almost all online articles about this subject are talking about), the speed is normal and the beats are regular. It is just way heavier than it should be, as if my heart is fighting against the THC. I go to bed feeling fine and relaxed, and I wake up with my heart beating away.

I recently bought a vaporizer to see if this would help, as I would also would like to cut down on smoking. However, unfortunately this has really not been working well for me. Basically I find it way too powerful, the palpitations continue during the night as before, and also instead of getting high for a few hours in the evening before coming down and going to sleep, the vaporizer gives me a steady buzz that lasts over into the next day, also badly disrupting my sleep, even with very small amounts of weed.

Maybe it's just because I am getting older, but it is as if my tolerance to THC has completely eroded, and that I have some deep rooted stress. I have found that magnesium supplements and also valerian drops have helped to reduce my stress levels and improve my sleep, however the palpitation problem remains when I consume cannabis.

I am curious if anyone else has experience of the same kind of problems - palpitations during the night, and that even just vaping a very small amount gives a buzz that continues for hours and hours into the next day.

Thanks for any reactions!

pomogirl