Vaping, giving me asthmatic reaction.... Pollen Filter?

Profit

So I've been vaping for just over two years now started with a Plenty from Storz and Bickle but eventually got really sick when using it. The only way I can describe it is that my lungs seemed to become more restricted. I could breath but only just and it lasted over a day sometimes a little more. This is a scary feeling I have to admit.

I put this down to two things, possibly the heat of the vapor itself and the vaporizer being fairly dirty. I replaced my Plenty with a Volcano knowing that the balloon would give me an easier cleaning route and probably give the vapor some time to cool. I also purchased a bong which I used for a while but it didn't seem to help my problem.

So without boring you too much I can vape fine for weeks on end with little to know signs of respiratory stress and then out of no-where I get this sudden and horrid lung tightness. After doing my own research I think this is signs of an allergy. Allergic Asthma triggered by using the vaporizer, possibly over a longer period of time. These allergic reactions can sometimes take a couple of days to kick in. Sometimes happen instantly.

This week I got another nice strain which has clearly been made really well and vaped it for two days and became really sick. I gave myself a few days break and cleaned out the vape and after doing some reading decided to use some tights over the mouth piece to attempt to filter any stray pollen. This seems to have helped as the same strain is causing little to no reaction, perhaps a very minor one.

So what I'm trying to work out, is what gives a certain strain more pollen than another? What conditions reduce or remove this excess pollen? Is there a filter I could buy and put over the mouth piece that would be more practical than using an extra layer of tights? Does water filtration really reduce the amount of pollen in a vapor stream? Does anyone have experience having similar reactions?