Tek Vacuum purge sans pump

Deleted Member 1643

Purged QWET four times with good results. Instead of vacuum pump, used faucet aspirator. Seems reasonable for infrequent use. Self-taught, so any advice appreciated.

gqXFccy.jpg

Our starting material. Delicious La Diva, autoflowering, freeze-dried (doesn't it look fresh?).

AKLsv32.jpg

The faucet aspirator. Simple, inexpensive vacuum created by water rushing past small opening.

FSFSAM0306-DTC-3.jpg

The FoodSaver Quick Marinator, an inexpensive yet delightfully functional vacuum chamber.

d-nail-xlrheatpad.jpg

Silicone heating pad.

H45snWl.jpg

The faucet aspirator in action. Backflow requires some attention. If pressure in the chamber is lower than pressure at the opening, water is drawn into chamber. Easy to avoid. Even if it happens, it's not a disaster.

g9BMb9H.jpg

Backflow usually occurs when water pressure is released. The Quick Marinator vacuum chamber can be sealed while vacuum is being pulled, preventing backflow into the chamber.

AwrsQgT.jpg

Purging.

lWZsK0F.jpg

The result. Budder? Started clear, as above. Flavor is outstanding. Rose petals.

Last time, with identical starting material, got taffy. Earlier, with different starting material, got glass. What produces one or the other? What are their pros and cons? This one is easiest to dab. It doesn't pull into thin strands or shatter into tiny shards.

Puffers

Micro-Climate Mastermind
I find a lot of variables contribute to different concentrate consistency. Moisture both ambient and in your flowers, Terp content (higher terp contents seem to auto budder on me later), heat in chamber, and last but certainly not least the amount we disturb the concentrate while purging. Whipping, mixing, flipping the concentrate multiple times, any of these is likely to give you wax, budder, etc IME

Deleted Member 1643