1. What does SSTB mean? See our glossary of acronyms.
    Dismiss Notice

The Grasshopper

Discussion in 'Portable Vaporizers' started by midgetsanchez, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. JCat

    JCat Well-Known Member Accessory Maker

    Messages:
    2,481
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This to me is a significant improvement.

    1. They are owning their problems and not trying, at all, to blame the customer

    2. They are doing what they can to make it right by making the requested concessions

    I really do hope this plays out right.
     
    jupazo, Catweasel, KidFated. and 9 others like this.
  2. Baron23

    Baron23 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,182
    Agree 100%.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018
  3. Baron23

    Baron23 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,182
    Sorry for double post but edit timeout ran out.

    So, I agreed with whoever it was that said that Hopper probably wouldn't see my note added to the RMA of the GH that they already shipped back to me stating it was running cold and not useful.

    So, I opened a new RMA for this and posted their response above.

    Well, today...what, a couple of days later, Drew (same guy) comes back in the OG RMA to say that they will now send me a new body.

    So, is it ship it back under the new RMA or they ship me a new body under the old RMA? I have asked but wow, more confusion.

    --------------
    From Drew in OG RMA:
    Thanks for the detailed response. It sounds like we need to replace the body of your unit. Perhaps there is a poor connection in there that came loose during the transit process. We do extensive testing on every unit and I can assure you it was working well when it was here. We have shipped over 1000 of our new units and have not seen many problems. We cannot control every variably but we will do our best to make this right for you.

    We will send out a new body for the unit to remedy the problem .​
     
  4. wkndwarrior

    wkndwarrior Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    I have been following closely - it sure seems (as an outsider) that the company is trying to do right and correct its course. Seems at this point it’s like turning a freighter-make the adjustment and wait a long time. I am interested still to get a hopper but I feel like I’ve been checking in every few months for a long time waiting for the storm of rma’s and changes to clear.
     
  5. ktmstick

    ktmstick Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Scotland
    I think (and hope) they will just send you a new body to get you fixed. Caroline did this for me last year, took less than a week to get to me here in the uk.
     
  6. Baron23

    Baron23 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,182
    Thanks guys...and I agree...they are trying and part of this confusion was caused by me putting my new post-fix failure info in both the OG and new RMAs. Can't really fault them too much but most ticket systems allow you to associated tickets and make one the master in order to handle situations like this.

    I'm sure it will all work out. I just want my high performance GH back.

    Cheers
     
  7. fogbank

    fogbank Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    266
    I'm not sure why the changes were made (beyond the cabling), but your observations are correct. The newer charger only connects firmly from one side.
     
    Hjalmark, Sonicboom1991 and JCat like this.
  8. Baron23

    Baron23 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,182
    Latest back from Hopper...all good. We have the ticket confusion cleared up and they are sending me a new body rather than shipping back the whole GH. If it fixes the issue, I will be more than happy.

    From Drew at Hopper:

    I'm sorry. That was a communication mess up on our part. We will be sending you a replacement body. You will not need to worry about sending in the whole Hopper. I will be voiding the label that I originally sent you and your body should be shipping out soon.
     
  9. Mr. Gweilo 420

    Mr. Gweilo 420 Dude

    Messages:
    2,238
    Location:
    The Far East
    The transit process? Fuck me.
     
  10. Baron23

    Baron23 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,182
    Huh?
     
    KidFated., Hjalmark and Sonicboom1991 like this.
  11. RaK427

    RaK427 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hey, finally received it on Friday, that's about 5.5 weeks from the order date. With a weekend's worth of experience under my belt, I can say it's awesome! Size, convenience, and temperature adjustability are the main pros for it, while it makes impressive clouds as well. I'll have to see how it holds up, I'll be on vacation with it next week and am looking forward to experimenting with different packs and draw speeds.
     
  12. Mr. Gweilo 420

    Mr. Gweilo 420 Dude

    Messages:
    2,238
    Location:
    The Far East
    You mentioned Hopper Labs suggested your unit may have been damaged in transit. I was speculating that it would seem very unlikely.
     
  13. Sonicboom1991

    Sonicboom1991 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    83

    I've been going through this exact same problem for the last couple of months.
     
    KidFated. and Baron23 like this.
  14. newVaper420

    newVaper420 Vapor Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,795
    It was me who suggested to open a new RMA. Anyway glad they got it sorted. But if shipping it could break it, this is even worse than before. LOL.
     
  15. JCat

    JCat Well-Known Member Accessory Maker

    Messages:
    2,481
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just wanted to share something more positive in here ... my beloved Zapubler broke earlier this year, so I sent it to @PlanetVape for repair ... it was broken on the inside, so instead of repairing they made me a replica (maybe a little stronger :) )

    I just received it back on Monday and couldn't be happier! :)

    I love the frosted PV logo on the stem as well! It's really a "must-have" companion for my Hopper for travel; now if only I can get consistently working hoppers! On that note, I sanded down the back of the body a little too (like @Cheesequake ) It was getting crazy hot, and the flashing lights were intense! The lights still flicker, but not rapidly like before, and the heat seems to be resolved for now. I've had a # of really nice bowls with it on ~4.2. Really milks it up nice!

    Anyways, PV has made extras and will have them available for sale soon as well!

    I know a lot of you have other small bubblers like the Pinnacle Pro one ... however, where the Zapubler really, really shines, is it's really spill-proof. You can hold it at greater than horizontal without any water spilling out the top, or out the bottom when you put it back upright. I put it in my front jeans pocket when walking down the hall and stairs and out the door at hotels when travelling, and never worry about any water spilling out in my jeans (which would look pretty bad! :lol: )

    This is really the ultimate travel companion/water tool for the Hopper :)

    Highly recommended!

    [​IMG]
     
    KidFated., ArthurJ, Hogni and 10 others like this.
  16. Rel2018

    Rel2018 Active Member

    Messages:
    110
    Link please ?
     
    KidFated. likes this.
  17. JCat

    JCat Well-Known Member Accessory Maker

    Messages:
    2,481
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    They don't have them up on the site yet for sale, but I'm sure if you contact them they will be glad to help you out. Might still be in production as well (apart from the one I have received)

    http://www.planetvape.ca
     
    KidFated., Hogni and Vapor_Eyes like this.
  18. Rel2018

    Rel2018 Active Member

    Messages:
    110
    Thanks!
     
    KidFated. and Vapor_Eyes like this.
  19. newVaper420

    newVaper420 Vapor Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,795
    Any idea on the cost? That's amazing! :-)
     
    KidFated. likes this.
  20. JCat

    JCat Well-Known Member Accessory Maker

    Messages:
    2,481
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think they will be $119.95 CAD (ie. $90 USD). @PlanetVape would be the one to say for sure though ...

    Really, for Made-in-Canada custom glass, with a company like PV to stand behind it, this is a great price (and actually about what they cost when they were sold by Aromazap I believe). From what I understand, they are very complex to produce!
     
    KidFated., Vapor_Eyes and newVaper420 like this.
  21. newVaper420

    newVaper420 Vapor Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,795
    That's not bad at all :-).

    Too pricey for my blood at the current moment, but would love one.

    I'm just hoping I get a working hopper back soon before my trip at the end of July.

    It's been there since Feb 2nd.
     
    KidFated., Baron23 and Vapor_Eyes like this.
  22. jerseydvd

    jerseydvd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Got a shipping notice finally!!
    We'll see how a repaired GH holds up...
    They received mine Feb. 3, FYI
     
  23. Easywider

    Easywider Simple is the way

    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Ontario
    Received my 2 RMA's back from forever ago, honestly forgot what to expect. Happy to report ( knock on wood ) both are working nicely! Also forgot how much I like the vape signature from the hopper. Unfortunately they forgot to ship the 5 new batteries I paid for in my order.
     
  24. Hjalmark

    Hjalmark Oldest boy alive

    Messages:
    861
    That got to look good filled with clouds !

    also much nicer mouth-piece then the standard cheap hydrotube, mine after nearly years of use is looking extremely dirty and smelly and overnight ISO soak barely helps

    is that the "cheap glass thing" ? lt getting easily dirty and hard to clean?

    I am already on Planetvape looking at stuff ... pfff remember why I buy cheap stuff
     
    KidFated., Vapor_Eyes and JCat like this.
  25. johnnyCanuck

    johnnyCanuck Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    137
    Finally got my Hopper back since sending it in beginning of January.

    I was just about to give up on these guys and thought I’d be fine using my M, SB Jr, Square or OG Arizer Solo.

    But after having my fully loaded Green Hopper back in my hands, it felt awesome. Then I proceeded to take two pulls and NOW ALL IS FORGIVEN! Hopper Labs can do no wrong by me! Back to storage my collection goes.
     

Support FC, visit our trusted friends and sponsors