Sativa Indica Confusion

Polarbearboy

Tokin' Away Since 1968
I've been smoking dope and now vaping for some 50 years. But in the last two years I've been increasingly buying and using my legal dope according to whether its Sativa or Indica. In Canada, or at least the Atlantic Provinces which I travel through and stay in, all flower is tested for purity, THC and CBD content and labeled "Sativa", "Sativa derived", "Sativa hybrid", etc. I've been doing sativas(Galliano, Island Honey) during the day(I'm retired) when I want to get stuff done or hike for a few hours or bike up a series of ascending hills or early evening when I want to stay awake for friends or to watch a movie. Indica(Kosher Kush, Quaddra and Afghani Kush) at night to help me with insomnia. Just as the cannabis charts tell me.

But I'm a science oriented guy. I've read the recent literature which says that both chemically and genetically the sativa/indica difference has no basis in fact or effect on humans. Just curious what other folks think of this.

Tranquility

But I'm a science oriented guy. I've read the recent literature which says that both chemically and genetically the sativa/indica difference has no basis in fact or effect on humans. Just curious what other folks think of this.
Yet, I've never gotten paranoid or anxiety from anything but a sativa.

Tranquility,
The difference between Indica and Sativa is in the terpenes. Generally speaking, Indica varieties will have a high concentration of Myrcene while the Sativa strains will generally be higher in Pinene and Limonene. Mycene in usually associated with pain relief and sleep while Pinene and Liminene are generally 'uplifting' and/or 'stimulating'.

Unfortunately, names like GRAPE and BUBBLEGUM and flavor oriented sales are breeding away from the simpler strains and towards what sells. I generally grow landrace strains. Or, if I can get the seeds, early Skunks, Haze and Kush varieties. Very predictable effects with solid strains.

JCat