Refining QWET Technique

TrashPanda666

So I'm a long time lurker on this site and a new member mainly because I can always find the information I'm looking for. I've come to somewhat of an impasse and could use some wisdom. Have made QWISO, QWET, and BHO (using several methods-none "proper" but took appropriate safety precautions.). All this to say I'm no stranger to extracts but I am an amateur with limited resources working on gathering better equipment.

So here is my problem. I made QWET recently using a method employing two jars and double coffee filters essentially pouring the cold ethanol through frozen buds that turned out quite nicely save for a bit of chlorophyll that could be rectified by doing one less pass. My problem is no matter what everytime I do this my end result ends up foaming when I try to dab it.

In the past I've gotten glassy residue that broke into powder, I learned from this forum that that was due to over heating in a rush to purge the solvent.

Do I need to get a buchner funnel vacuum filter setup so I can filter better or does it need to be winterized longer? Any advice would be awesome.

TrashPanda666,
Reactions: The Beagle

Deleted Member 1643

Ah, QWET. :luv: Just did one. Fingers crossed for light, straw-colored shatter.

What are the details of your method and purge? What do you mean by foaming? How are you dabbing?

There's no reason not to get a Buchner funnel and faucet aspirator. You'll wonder how you ever got by without one. Don't know if it will solve your problem, though. If everything is kept cold, winterizing should be unnecessary. Often store second and third runs in deep freezer before evaporating. Never get any precipitate.

TrashPanda666