possible effects on liver

Status
Not open for further replies.

420GanjX

Hi FC,

A few weeks back I noticed when I pulled down the lids of my eyes underneath my eye whites had a obvious yellow tinge to them. After doing some googling I discovered this could be a sign of "Jaundice" a flurry of symptoms caused by liver degeneration (usually alcohol related). I used to drink heavily (binge drinking once a weekend), but have abstained for about 2 months now.

Recently, I have been problems with my GERD (which is constant acid reflux) making it hard for me to swallow, but I am concerned with taking the PPI (proton pump inhibitors) which are prescribed for this issue. If I do have a bad liver as these could make it worse. (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1542370)

Now the reason Im coming here to FC is that I stumbled across an page stating chronic marijuana use could cause a liver toxicity (I've been using cannabis for 5 years now, vaping for the last one) so I'm concerned maybe my love is causing this possible liver issue. Maybe I'm just a hypochondriac. anyway here's the articles

first one I found: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15448809
longer version: http://www.scielo.br/pdf/spmj/v122n3/a07v1223.pdf

then the only forum page I found on the issue: http://ask.metafilter.com/220044/Will-inhaling-vaporized-marijuanacannabis-hurt-my-liver

I would love nothing more than you guys to fully discredit these articles so I can begin taking the medication to help my acid reflux and give my throat a chance to heal, but if these are right could marijuana (atleast in the chronicly used/abused sence) not be as harmless as we thought. I really hope not.:(

420GanjX,
Reactions: RUDE BOY

Reflections