Ever Wonder if Your Weed has Benn Artificially Flavoured???

Squiby

I am beginning to wonder if the weed I get from my local dispensary has been artificially flavour enhanced....

I have tried maybe 30+ strains in my life, so far :p and although there are clearly different flavour profiles, overt fruit flavours seem artificial. I have had Strawberry Cough, Strawberry Haze, Raspberry Cough, and none of these were really reminiscent of their name sake.

Then, lately, I got some Strawberry Sativa and Pineapple Express. They both had flavours that were over the top. The Pineapple Express tastes like actual pineapple and the Strawberry Sativa like strawberry jello.

What's going on? Has careful breeding really created these flavours or is this some kind of artificially conceived infusion?

diseaze

I'm no expert on the growing process and probably have less experience with different strains than most, but that's one of the reasons why I try to avoid the fruity-named strains. Of course, sometimes it's inevitable if I go to the dispensary and smell something really nice (but still not like candy). I'd imagine it's the same/similar artificial flavor added to the fruity papers, vape cartridges, etc., but I could be wrong.

KimDracula

I haven't had this experience with flower thankfully despite loving some fruity strains but when using some concentrates I have definitely been able to tell when they have added terpenes that are probably not cannabis-derived. When it comes to certain distillates and CO2 extractions I have come across very strong flavors that seem very artificial. Since the difference was so immediately apparent to me it makes me think you are probably on to something. If it tastes fake it probably is. I like flavorful stuff but it has to be genuine flavors. We don't want our weed tasting like artificially flavored candy, dammit.

CarolKing

Singer of songs and a vapor connoisseur