Electronic circuit question (1VDC voltage regulation)

DaProfessor

I thought I'd ask here, since some members have EE knowledge :D

I need a way to regulate 12VDC down to 1VDC. I also need high current capacity 50A+. Any simple way to do this? I don't need to start with 12VDC, its just convenient for me. The load is inductive, if that matters. If you have any suggestions on a simple implementation to achieve regulated voltage at high currents LMK. I have basic electronics knowledge, but my projects are usually just expansions of what I find in the datasheets of all-in-one sort of components.

DaProfessor,

Egzoset

Banned
Just a very basic suggestion.

Anybody who can make circuit connections should be able to group 64 AAA 1.25 Volts 800 mAh rechargeable cells in parallel, which might be close enough to allow the evaluation of your 1 Volts idea... Once you're done with it you'll have plenty of rechargeable batteries to give away to all of your environmentally green friends, and even those you don't like so much!

:brow:

Egzoset,

DaProfessor

Alright, finally got around to doing some research on this problem. I was thinking I had to get all complex and maybe setup + and - sources to get a difference of one volt or something. Decided to go back to basics and just look at the power electronics chapter in the bible for electronic hobbyists, "The Art of Electronics". Of course I found a possible solution. Just add an external pass transistor to an existing linear voltage regulator IC. Supposed allows a path for excess current to travel through. My questions now, can I use a single power transistor to pass a 50A load and can I substitute a transistor with a power MOSFET? More research needs to be done.