diy vaporizer heating element

dtrdrk

hey,
im pretty new to vaping and im also into electronics. so im thinking of building my own :)
i really dig the simple concept of the milaana and i guess i will try to build a similar device. looking into it, there basically seems to be next to nothing involved. a battery, a switch and a heating element. i think i would simply buy the glass piece from the milaana to achieve true convection.

now where im lost is the actual heating element. i dont feel like winding my own coils - id prefer something readily available. could someone point me towards a source? i want this to be instant "on demand".
also im thinking why not use induction heating? should be fast and efficient i guess. could i for instance take the heating element that people use for the vapcap heaters, insert a ferrit and use that as my heater? has anyone tried this?

sorry im a noob to vaporizers so please ignore me if im writing trash :)

asdf420

i was thinking of something like this. I imagine an induction heater that heats a cylinder that has a bunch of disks with alternating holes, or a bunch of steel BBs could work as a heating element. and then somehow varying the voltage to the heater based on what you get from sensors idk. But I've never seen something like that, and really dont know much of anything

asdf420,
Reactions: rz

dtrdrk

thanks for your reply mate. i might just have to buy one of these inductor boards and have it blow up in my face :) honestly, i see no reason for it not to work at this point....

dtrdrk,

ZC

There's not a lot of off the shelf solutions for vape heaters.

Log Vapes are done with a particular ohmite 20 OHM resistor or in some cases Stainless Steel enclosed heater cartridges. These work well but are not "instant on demand"