DIY butane vaporizer?

Simple10

Member, you member riiiight?
Since I began vaping dry herb at the beginning of this year I noticed from the naked eye the functionality of a butane vape is not much different than that of a regular smoking pipe, the difference being the torch use technique and having an enclosed pathway between the flame and the bowl to avoid combustion.

So I was thinking would it be possible to create a DIY vape by simply lodging a screen in the middle of a double-sided glass adapter and then connecting one end to a WP or J-hook and the other end to another glass stem/tube for the flame intake.
Since I'm not an expert in physics/thermodynamics, Is this the only factor needed in creating a functional butane vape or is there something else I'm missing?
Has any expert here tried making a DIY vape at home?

Last edited:
Simple10,

Elfgrin

It really is that simple if you're just looking to get a basic vapor going, but I feel more comfortable with the isolated airpath designs that don't risk inhaling any impurities from your torch. To each their own though, plenty of people seem happy and healthy either method. Give it a go and let us know your results :) Worst case scenario you accidentally combust

Elfgrin,
Reactions: Simple10

Simple10

Member, you member riiiight?
It really is that simple if you're just looking to get a basic vapor going, but I feel more comfortable with the isolated airpath designs that don't risk inhaling any impurities from your torch. To each their own though, plenty of people seem happy and healthy either method. Give it a go and let us know your results :) Worst case scenario you accidentally combust

Again I'm not an expert but I don't understand how the airpath of my Hydrobrick consisting of glass, metal and wood, will prevent butane impurities from being inhaled as opposed to using only a glass tube? Isn't that more to do with the quality of the butane in the torch? Doesn't water also filter out some impurities?