• Do NOT click on any vaporpedia.com links. The domain has been compromised and will attempt to infect your system. See https://fuckcombustion.com/threads/warning-vaporpedia-com-has-been-compromised.54960/.

Dab question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jman5280

I am new to the whole torch and nail dab routine...but I'm digging it a lot.

I am still trying to dial in the sweet spot of heating up my quartz nail. I can get a good hit with just 5 seconds of heat up, and I get a good hit with 15 seconds heat and letting it cool down, I can't tell the difference. *I think that a five second heat up and immediate hit is equal to heating up to glowing red and waiting 19 seconds to cool down.

When I heat up the nail a lot, and make it glow red, I let it cool down for 10 seconds and then hit it...when I hit it I taste butane more that what I am used to with BHO.

When heating the nail via torch, is butane escaping and finding it's way into the oil rig? Or is the torch flame leaving any butane on the nail?

Whatever it is I'm inhaling it and not sure if that's normal.

Jman5280,

Jman5280

When I torch I am finding that a vector nitro is heating up my 18mm quartz nail in 5 seconds. If I hit it right away I get a solid hit.

Is 5 seconds enough time? Or is there any benefit to heating the nail till it glows red (15 seconds) and then letting it cool for 10 seconds?

To me it seems that they are both the same. But a lot of people suggest to heat up and let cool down...but to me this seems wasteful since a 5 second heat up will work just fine.

Jman5280,

clouded vision

I don't use quartz so I can't tell you much about it but with ti I try to heat it just enough, saves a lot of butane in the long run. Try playing around with it and counting while heating then taking a dab right away, try to dial in the sweet spot for you.

Jman5280

Everything I read says 5 seconds is to short of a time...but it works for me. Any quartz users know if that's ok?