1. What does SSTB mean? See our glossary of acronyms.
    Dismiss Notice

Arizer Solo II

Discussion in 'Portable Vaporizers' started by bluenavey00, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Gentle Friends,

    A couple thoughts on car cords for you? It occurs to me there are new faces who didn't go through this with Solo I.

    The car cord itself is a 'no brainer', simply the right connectors and wire. Nothing fancy. But the connector Arizer uses is not rated by EIAJ for this voltage. It would be a standard EIAJ-02 (4 X 1.7mm) if the voltage was between 3.15 and 6.3 Volts and in view of that specification typically has a yellow insulator at the tip. No 'legitimate maker' would put a 12 Volt connector on the other side so you could accidentally blow up your cell phone and blame them. Except Arizer........

    Therefore you need an adapter for a cheap solution. First get a more or less standard 12 Volt car cord, look around, you may well have one for a battery charger, flashlight or other stuff? They typically end in 5.5 X 2.1mm like these:
    https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=12+volt+car+power+cord&rt=nc&LH_BIN=1

    And an adapter like these:
    https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=5.5x2.1+to+4+x+1.7+adapter&rt=nc&LH_BIN=1

    I haven't tried all these of course, but they should do just fine for under five bucks shipped?

    IMO at that price it's a nice option to have around.....like when you question the factory charger? Guys seem to end up questioning chargers a lot, you'll notice such issues are very common. Should it befall you if you could easily check charging in the car......

    Regards to all.....enjoy your Solos, that's why you bought them, right?

    OF

    OF
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, macbill and 6 others like this.
  2. ataxian

    ataxian PALE BLUE DOT

    Messages:
    11,480
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    Thank you @OF
    Ordered the adapter for my SOLO
     
  3. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Cool. So you already have a car cord or other 12 Volt source with the standard 5.5mm connector? That adapter will let you charge Solo II (or I for that matter) from there.

    Yer welcome, of course. Please let us know how it works out, you have an infectious way about you with these sorts of things sometimes, it'd be great if folks got on board?

    OF
     
  4. ataxian

    ataxian PALE BLUE DOT

    Messages:
    11,480
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    I love your stuff!

    So FUN!

    SOLO = GIZMO = CIVILIZED
     
  5. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Keeping you amused is very important you know.

    Better to get a good laugh, or at least a smile, than the alternative?

    OF
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 5 others like this.
  6. Pepus

    Pepus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Near Ebro River
    Hi, I think I have used too much force trying to get out the stem without heating and now I'm getting the error 7 and the heater seems to be loose. After 'screw' the stem again clockwise it has started to work again luckily but I'm afraid it will fail again.

    I would prefer don't use the warranty and would like to open it and fix it by myself. Does anyone know if is it easy to do or any other solution?

    Thanks!
     
  7. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    You're not the first to report the oven is 'loose', several of us have, you might want to read this thread? "Screwing the stem in (or out)" is to be discouraged I think.

    Your call on opening it up, there's a chance you can find a problem and fix it and get it back together. You've the best judge of your skills.

    Here's a link to PIUs teardown so you'll get a peek at what you're up against.

    http://blog.puffitup.com/2017/06/solo-2-the-teardown-we-take-vaporizers-apart-so-you-dont-have-to/

    OF
     
  8. Pepus

    Pepus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Near Ebro River
    Hi, I knew it, I knew it, but I am used to the Air, and it is so sturdy!

    It seems not too difficult to open the Solo 2 and more important, nor to close it back, or I'm missing something that is not shown in the pictures? really is all only about 4 screws?

    Anyway, the question is if the solution will be only to soldier a cable and tight some screws or something more technical. And if in the end I need to use the warranty, would it be noticed that it was opened? I didn't see any seal or similar.

    It is working right now, but I'd I like to take a look and find out if is it something (easy) I can do...

    Thanks OF for your wise advice, you are always ready for rescue!
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 4 others like this.
  9. JCharles

    JCharles FC 06/06/2017 | ACMPR 26/07/2017

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Send it back. They will ship a new unit for you to enjoy.
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 4 others like this.
  10. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    I believe he's in an awkward (foreign) place. Normally return is a good call, but logistics here can be a deal breaker?

    OF
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 2 others like this.
  11. JCharles

    JCharles FC 06/06/2017 | ACMPR 26/07/2017

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Very true -

    We don't really know what the error codes mean, though the loose oven is the probable cause.

    Sucks either way - tread waters safely - if an RDA is needed you're not SOL.
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 3 others like this.
  12. acorn

    acorn Member

    Messages:
    5
    Hey all,

    I've owned my Solo 2 since they came out. I charged it last night and when I unplugged it, the battery gauge stayed on the screen and wont shut off. I couldn't turn it on and I left it overnight on my desk and when I woke up today the screen still shows the battery gauge showing full. If I plug it in, it doesn't beep or show the charging gauge move at all. It almost seems like my unit is frozen...Does anyone know of a way to reset the Solo 2? Thanks for any help you can offer.
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, BigJr48 and dynospec like this.
  13. JCharles

    JCharles FC 06/06/2017 | ACMPR 26/07/2017

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    This has happened before. Send an email to Arizer so they know of the problem.

    You'll need to let the device discharge to zero to reset it. This is what a previous member did with the same issue.

    Unless Arizer can provide an actual work around.
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, acorn, BigJr48 and 2 others like this.
  14. acorn

    acorn Member

    Messages:
    5
    Will it discharge even though it cant be powered on? With this things battery, that's going to take 3 months...
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, BigJr48 and dynospec like this.
  15. JCharles

    JCharles FC 06/06/2017 | ACMPR 26/07/2017

    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Maybe a week? With the battery indicator being present it's drawing power - though probably not very much.

    You may be able to find the other users posts in this thread with the search function
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, BigJr48 and dynospec like this.
  16. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast

    But it is on, you're looking at the display, right?

    In reality (whatever that is) these processors never stop. When you 'power down' it still has to stay running so it can serve your next request (it has to know when you push buttons).

    The fellow that had it run away before also got a beep in cycles IIRC, which means it'll draw even more power than simply running the display (or waiting 'dark' for button presses).

    Since we have no other reset to work with the only solution is to count on it booting up (from actual non powered state).

    I agree with JC, it's time to stop looking for fast ways out from us amateurs and email the factory. Hopefully they have more experience, perhaps even a forced reset to offer (something like 'plug it in, hold all 3 buttons down then unplug'?). In development of such things such 'backdoor resets' are usually put in for debugging, troubleshooting and other such fun stuff. Often these are left in at release. I've worked at places that allowed you to tell customers (at least some.....) and others that forbid it. One even insisted that you not let folks on board watch you do it. It can get mighty boring on watch you know........

    Good luck with it. FWIW it's looking like Solo II is not going to be anywhere near as problem free as Solo I? If so, no doubt Arizer will set it straight promptly if they can?

    OF
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, acorn, Vaponly and 3 others like this.
  17. dynospec

    dynospec Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    @acorn try connecting it to power supply and holding down menu and up buttons for 10 sec, if that doesnt work try plugging it in and holding down menu and down button for 10 sec, I believe this has worked in the past for another member

    Good luck with it all.
     
    acorn, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 3 others like this.
  18. acorn

    acorn Member

    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for all of the help and suggestions. I tried plugging it in and holding the buttons and nothing happened. I'll reach out to Arizer and keep you posted on what happens.
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, Vaponly, BigJr48 and 4 others like this.
  19. °k

    °k The sound of vapor

    Messages:
    548
    Look what I found searching for "reset" in this thread. Hopefully it'll work for you as well.
     
  20. sickmanfraud

    sickmanfraud Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,488
    Isn't it a truism that the more bells and whistles (features) an item has, the more things there are to break??

    Us "non-techies" believe that to be a true statement. @OF is it real or an urban legend?
     
  21. OF

    OF Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    18,269
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Statistically I think it's a sound idea. That doesn't mean it's always the same risk. That is there's a difference between say having the beeper die and the element in the heater breaking?

    As was so wisely said in Ecclesiastes, "He who increases in Wisdom increases in Sorrow". True then, true now?

    OF
     
  22. acorn

    acorn Member

    Messages:
    5
    I found the same thing while searching, that didn't work either. I heard back from Arizer today and it looks like I will have to send it back to them.


     
  23. dynospec

    dynospec Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry to hear of your misfortune, but at least Arizer is sure to make things right.

    Hopefully you have a backup to use in the meantime?
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, acorn, BigJr48 and 2 others like this.
  24. ataxian

    ataxian PALE BLUE DOT

    Messages:
    11,480
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    The SOLO 2 is on my wish list! (BUCKET)
    [​IMG]
    I'll try to stay MEDICATED = OLD SOLO = CIVILIZED = LEVEL 4
     
  25. Kentucky Wax

    Kentucky Wax Active Member

    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Prospect, Kentucky
    I wonder if we could try this when it's in a normal state, would it reset?
     
    Dr. Soxhlet, ataxian and OF like this.

Support FC, visit our trusted friends and sponsors