Am I vaping correctly?

Musicgu7

Hello everyone!

I am a total noob, on this site as well as to the beautiful and peaceful world of herb / vaping ;)

A quick bit of history:
I was never a smoker either, I probably smoked herb 3 times in my life and that was years back (and crap stuff), since I am not a regular (tobacco) smoker either I decided to buy a vape and after some back and forth about recommendations with Randy at Puff It Up (can't say enough good things about Randy and PIU!), I picked up a Flowermate 5.0s

Love it! I am now going to pick up an imag+ from Randy as well but I have a few questions (being a noob) that hopefully you more-experienced-than-me folk can answer (I feel guilty asking Randy so many questions) :

1 - I grind up the herb, put it in the bowl, start the vape on Blue and once the blue light is on solid, I take a hit.
(I actually don't like the first hit as it tastes too... "plant-y" :( - but thats something for another discussion)

I then put the vape off, open it, stir it up (the bowl - like Bob Marley sang about :p), clean the mesh (if it needs to be cleaned) with a toothpick (basically just kind of "dust it" so if anything is sticking to the mesh it falls back into the bowl, not 'actual cleaning' like with rubbing alcohol) put the top back in, start it up and take another hit.

I do the above for each hit, 2 hits on blue, 5-7 on magenta, 5-8 on red (seems like the best way to get the most out of the bud - again, perhaps for another discussion).
As you can imagine its a bit of a pain in the ass to keep opening, clean mesh, stir, start up again - its something I'm willing to do if its the right way of vaping - but is it the right way of vaping or am I doing something wrong?

Writing the above actually is a bit more complicated than actually doing it, it usually takes seconds to do it and seems to "roast" everything in evenly - or am I just fooling myself?