Alternative to traditional vapes

I am new to the whole vaporizer thing (and even to the MJ thing). I don't currently own a vape but I have several homemade devices and am planning on building a vape. I'm a Mechanical Engineer and so I wanted to design my own vaporizer from the ground up. As I was doing this I got to wondering why most vaporizers use fans? If you had a closed chamber could you not just raise the temp inside the chamber to the correct temp (about 390F) and leave it at that temp for a few minutes so that you get good vaporization then remove the MJ and heater from the chamber and inhale the vapor? It seems like you'd be able to get more complete vaporization and have more control over the density of the smoke (by controlling the amount of MJ you put in). Is there some sort of oxidation or chemical reaction that requires airflow? Would this work? As I said, I'm new to this whole thing so if this is already a common approach I apologize.

Pi_Squared,

Purple-Days

Maybe you could try using vapor from a couple of devices before you try to re-invent the wheel. :cool:

Being a Mechanical Engineer is great, :cool: but if you are trying to improve the bicycle, it might help to try riding one first (or preferably several). Find out what works and doesn't need improvement. Ride (some more) before you decide that a 'better bicycle' needs four wheels or could get by just as well with one. ;)

Reading about sex or being a celibate expert isn't the same as the real world. Until you get some real world experience . . . how can you know how to improve on other's previous efforts?